The return from kernel space

The title of this post is a reference to an assignment I had in university, which is the reason my last post is spaced at a month from this one, rather than a fortnight, as is supposed to be, the assignment is detailed over here.

After I said I wouldn’t have time to put on the project (the same one as mentioned here) I expected someone else would take it, but actually returned to find out a couple of people left, and someone would actually be hired to work on the project, as well as an entirely unexpected person getting assigned to the project, but that was reassuring, as he has a lot more experience than I do, so that was well received on my part.

After returning, I’ve worked on mainly two things, a “stand-alone” PDF to image web API converter, and a usage statistics view on the front-end (or web application), as well as the data provider URI on the existing web API for it.

For the PDF converter, I simply used parts of the project that were already there, so I only needed to add the API URI for it, but it wasn’t as simple as it sounds, as there were some problems with the structure of the project, which could only be resolved through some command line trickery (mass copy and rename of a working part of the project, as well as deleting everything unnecessary), take notes, the command line RULES.

For the usage statistics, I used the Angular Google Charts module/project, though I used `npm`, rather than `bower`, it was still challenging, as I’m using ES6 classes with AngularJS, rather than using the “wannabe-functional-programming” javascript (a.k.a. ES5), or `IIFEs` or whatever that nonsense is called, and all documentation on anything that has anything to do with angular is for the “wannabe-functional-programming” javascript code, so “translating” it was a somewhat difficult.
After getting used to it, it’s not too difficult, but because of the way it “consumes” data to display it, it has been difficult to get the back-end to format the data correctly (I just really don’t understand why anyone would actually like javascript as a language… I mean, if you look at Angular 2+ (currently 4… I think?) TypeScript, is closer to a “statically/strongly” typed language than to a dynamically typed, people should just accept that non-strongly-typed languages AREN’T the way to go.

The charts there aren’t as “powerful” as the “vanilla” version of the Google Charts library/module (or maybe it’s just not complete as a wrapper of the library), but it gets the job done, and that has been mostly the attitude of everyone here, so I guess it’s fine

tl;dr version:
unexpectedly still on the same project, I think I’m doing good progress, getting things working gives you a confidence boost

unrelated to the rest of the post

I got a couple of really good books from the library, which I intend on reading over the next couple of weeks (good in the way eating vegetables is good, not like “feel good” good) they’re “Clean Code” and “Refactoring: Improving the Design of Existing Code” though for some reason, the latter is in what I think is Chinese (it’s Chinese characters, but as I understand it, there are several languages in China and it’s surrounding countries)

Leave a Reply

