… Yeah, it’s been a while

a lot longer than I intended, college sure does get busy

anyway, I ended up not needing React at all… which was a little annoying, ‘cuz it sort of felt like wasted time… it was interesting though, so it wasn’t entirely a waste

bitmap

React is a little bit weird, it really is only UI, and even if it’s really good at it, you can’t really do everything with it, specially if you need data from a data-source (like a database or a web API)

Angular on the other hand… Angular 2 is not used as much as one would expect, and frankly I get why, I mean, Angular 4 is already close to being released, and if it delivers on its promises, I see no point to really use v2, specially if you’re already “a wizard” in v1 (or JS) and you see no particular need to migrate to the newer versions (not saying I’m one of the wizards though)

anyway, the first project I was actually assigned to, has been… exciting, to say the least, but it’s sort of suspended for the moment, so they assigned me to something else, and honestly, I think I might like it more, because it’s not a refactoring from one technology I don’t know, to another I don’t know well, as the first thing was, but more of a bugfix in a project that’s in a technology I’m familiar with (Java v7 syntax), and the one I don’t know as well (AngularJS), but since I’ve had more time to get familiar with it, I think I’m going to enjoy working on it

I actually did some refactoring to the code of the back-end, applying “Uncle Bob’s” ‘extract till you drop’ method to both make the code easier to read, and familiarize myself with the code, I don’t really expect them to use the changes I made (other than changes to fix the issue) but I get the satisfaction of getting working code doing something I learned during one of the trainings, which is nice

tl;dr version:
I’m doing some stuff with a back-end programmed in Java, that’s used by a front-end programmed in AngularJS, and it’s been a lot more enjoyable than the pure javascript nightmare with was the refactoring/migration that the first project was (or is)

to keep up the “unrelated to the rest of the post” thing I did last time:

The bank stuff is kind of neat, though I’m not really making so much to really get any benefit from getting dollars, but anyway, might come in handy later on

Leave a Reply

